Interview with Catalin Doroftei

235 courses | Uni Profile  |  Student Union  |  www.reading.ac.uk

catalin doroftei

Name: Catalin Doroftei
Age: 20
Home town: Iasi, Romania
Uni : University of Reading
Degree: BSc Applied Artificial Intelligence and Cybernetics
What do you want to do when you graduate? Work in a client facing positions within a major IT company, or a technical position within a bank.

So what’s it like working at Dominos? How long have you worked there?
I have been working at Domino’s since my first year, with a few interruptions. Working at Domino’s is a nice experience to have. Although not a massive learning curve, dealing with customers on a day-to-day basis can teach you something about dealing with critical situations and dealing with people in general; both customers and fellow employees.

In my particular case, I find it to be rather rewarding, as I have managed to socialise and create some strong relationships with my colleagues, thus going to work is more like ‘me’ time; when it’s not busy of course! As a part-time job, I manage to earn a bit of cash as well as focus on my academic studies.

Did you have this job before you started uni?
No, I didn’t. I moved to the UK from Romania in September 2011, and I have to say, Domino’s was my proper job.

How did you find the job?
I found the job to be quite engaging at first, everything becoming second nature after a while. Dealing with unhappy customers from time-to-time, and managing to disarm the situation still gives me lots of satisfaction. I would have to say that the job in itself is not the most entertaining, especially if the social factor is taken out of the equation. Overall I am pleased with what I have managed to achieve by working at Domino’s so far.

How many hours a week are you working? And is it a problem to juggle part-time work with study and your social life?
The number of hours per week depends on the forecasting for that particular week. If a new deal is going to be launched or if the manager forecasts a busy week, I usually get more hours. I usually work anywhere between 15 and 20 hours , on a regular week.

Juggling between part-time work, study and social life has been quite a challenge, and I would have to say that the biggest impact it had on me was the fact that I was rather tired at the end of the week.

Is your job relevant to your degree/studies or your career prospects? Any skills you are learning which you can see being valuable down the line?
The job is not relevant to my degree, but it is, however, slightly relevant as to what I would like to do in the future - work in a customer-oriented environment. From that point of view I have indeed learnt some skills that will prove valuable down the line such as explaining to customers our service or deals, as well as trying to notice what sort of behaviour from my part, has the biggest impact on customers.

Do you depend on your part-time job financially or is it just extra spending money? Do you enjoy it, or does it feel like more of a chore?
I depend on my job financially, as I have to pay part of my accommodation fee. Sometimes it does tend to feel like a chore, but most of the time, as I have mentioned, it has become almost so robotic that I can just zone out, and think about other things, while still being efficient at what I do.

Do you work during the holidays?
Between my first and second year Summer holiday I have worked in Cardiff doing door-to-door sales. That was due to the fact that my sister lived there, so I didn’t have to pay rent. I will however, work at Domino’s over the Easter Holiday because I will be in Reading.

Free/discounted pizza?!
As an employee I receive a 50% discount on any order.

University of Reading
www.reading.ac.uk  |  @UniofReading
+ 44 (0)118 987 5123

UCAS code: R12

University of Reading
Whiteknights
PO Box 217
Reading
RG6 6AH