NUS Awards 2013: the winners

NUS Awards 2013

By David Nelkin,

The 2013 NUS Awards were held this week, sponsored by the student-loving Endsleigh. Student Union presidents and their teams have worked voraciously throughout the year to stand above their counterparts at other universities and colleges, and have now been judged by a pretty high brow judging panel, including the Universities Editor at the Guardian, the Editor at THE and the Head of Events at Oxfam.

So on to the winners – along with links for you to check out their Student Union profiles.

Equality and Diversity

Winners: Glasgow Caledonian Students’ Association
Glasgow Caledonian Students’ Association profile
Interview with theunipod

Tech and Innovation

Winner: Students’ Union of the University of the Arts London
Uni of the Arts SU profile

Course and Rep

Winner: Michael Anslow @ University of Worcester Students’ Union
Worcester SU profile

Club or Society

Winner: Northumbria Debating Society
Northumbria SU profile

Community Relations

Winner: University of Nottingham and Nottingham Trent University
Uni of Nottingham SU profile
Nottingham Trent SU profile

Student Journalist of the Year

Winner: George Sandeman @ Newcastle University
Newcastle SU profile

Best Student Media

Winner: Demon Media @ De Montfort University
De Montfort SU profile

Higher Education SU Officer

Winner: Zak Liddell @ Marjon Students’ Union

Further Education SU Officer

Winner: Rhiannon Durrans @ York College Students’ Union
York College profile

Campaign of the Year

Winner: Canterbury College Students’ Union
Canterbury College profile

SU staff member of the year

Winner: Di Pedder @ University of Leeds
Leeds SU profile and student interviews

Endsleigh Student of the Year

Winner: Aiden Bannon @ Queen’s University Belfast
Queen’s Uni SU profile

Life Time Achievement

Winner: Pete Elliott, Chief Executive, Lancaster University Students’ Union
Lancaster SU profile

Small and Specialist SU

Winner: Writtle College Students’ Union
Writtle profile

Further Education SU

Winner: Bradford College Students’ Union
Bradford College profile

Higher Education SU

Winner: University of Leicester
Leicester SU profile